Update to Storm Cat Male Line, Kentucky Derby

Congratulations!!!!!!! to Rosie Napravnik for becoming the first female jockey to win the Kentucky Oaks two days ago on Believe You Can. I believe I heard her mention  that it was also the first G1 race of any description she has ever won. Congratulations!!!!!!! on that as well.

And of course congratulations!!!!!!!!! to all the connections of Kentucky Derby winner I’ll Have Another.

A little over a year ago I published a post on the Storm Cat male line in the Kentucky Derby and a postscript after the race. I reckon you could call this a postscript to the postscript.

Five of the 20 starters in yesterday’s Kentucky Derby hailed from the Storm Cat male line. Creative Cause (by Giant’s Causeway, by Storm Cat) finished fifth at 11-1. Daddy Nose Best (by Scat Daddy, by Johannesburg, by Hennessy, by Storm Cat) finished tenth at 12-1. Daddy Long Legs (also by Scat Daddy) finished last at 23-1. Sabercat (by Bluegrass Cat, by Storm Cat) finished 15th at 33-1 Trinniberg (by Teuflesberg, by Johannesburg) finished 17th at 39-1.

So the Storm Cat male line supplied 25% of the field yesterday and came back with ZERO. That makes the overall record for the Storm Cat male line in the Kentucky Derby 33 starts, ZERO wins, three seconds, and two thirds. Needless to say, that is NOT a particularly good record.

In contrast, the Mr. Prospector male line filled the first four positions in yesterday’s Kentucky Derby. I’ll have Another is by Flower Alley, by Distorted Humor, by Forty Niner, by Mr. P. Bodemeister (second) is by Empire Maker, by Unbridled, by Fappiano, by Mr. P. Dullahan (third) is by Even the Score, by Unbridled’s Song, by Unbridled. Went the Day Well (fourth) is by Proud Citizen, by Gone West, by Mr. P.

I mention these facts not because I think male lines are the end-all and be-all of pedigrees. The opposite, in fact. I think the importance of male lines is vastly overrated. I mention these facts merely to amuse those of you who ARE obsessed with male lines.

And if you ARE obsessed with male lines, you should check out the pedigrees of the winners of the Triple Crown races in North America since 2000. You will see that the male line of Mr. P. has been extremely dominant in our classics in this century.

Flower Alley, the sire of I’ll Have Another, is inbred 3×3 to Mr. P. and 4×4 to Northern Dancer. I’ll Have Another himself is inbred 4×4 to Danzig (through two females, which is a little bit unusual) and 5x5x5 to Northern Dancer. I mention these facts not because I think that inbreeding is the end-all and be-all of pedigrees. The opposite, in fact. I think the importance of inbreeding is vastly overrated. I mention these facts merely to amuse those of you who ARE obsessed with inbreeding.

And I am working on inbreeding to Northern Dancer with sales foals of 2003-2007 and should have some numbers and statistics on this subject matter with which to amuse y’all in another two or three months.

I think I will do a separate post on Arch’s Gal Edith, dam of I’ll Have Another.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update to Storm Cat Male Line, Kentucky Derby

  1. Pingback: Storm Cat Male Line, Kentucky Derby (continued) | Boojum's Bonanza

Leave a Reply

